Malaysia Stamp & Philately Reference Guide
+ Country   : Malaya
+ Class     : Stamp & Philatey
+ Prefix    : MYPTM
+ Σ Group   : 31
+ Σ Stamp   : 64
+ Σ Variety : 19
+ Σ FDC     : 21
+ Σ Listing : Postage Stamp, Revenue & Tax, Postcard Prepaid (With Indicia), Aerogramme, Envelope & Prepaid Envelope, Envelope Registered, Reply Coupon, Railway Newspaper Stamp
Flag used from 1950 until 1963 Coat of Arms
English :  Federation of Malaya
Malay :  Persekutuan Tanah Melayu
Malay (Jawi) :  ڤرسكوتوان تانه ملايو

The Federation of Malaya is the name given to a federation of 11 states (nine Malay states and two of the British Straits Settlements: Penang and Malacca) that existed from 31 January 1948 until 16 September 1963. The Federation became independent on 31 August 1957, and in 1963 was reconstituted as Malaysia with the addition of Singapore,North Borneo, and Sarawak. The combination of states that formerly made up the Federation of Malaya is currently known as Peninsular Malaysia.

The Federation of Malaya Agreement was signed in Kuala Lumpur on 31 January 1948 to replace Malayan Union, and came into force on 1 February of that year. This agreement provided for a high commissioner and a federal legislative council. Within this framework the settlements of Penang and Malacca with another nine Malay states formed the Federation, and Singapore became a separate colony under its own governor. Within the Federation, while the Malay states were protectorates of the United Kingdom, Penang and Malacca remained British colonial territories.

Malaya became an independent state on 31 August 1957 and remained a member of the Commonwealth. Malaya's relations with Britain after independence remained close. In 1963 the country became part of the Federation of Malaysia.
Capital :  Kuala Lumpur
Government :  Constitutional monarchy
Area :  132.364 km²
Population :  6,258,758 (1957)
Currency :  Malaya and British Borneo dollar (100 cents)

List of member states of Federation of Malaya
  1.  Johor
  2.  Kedah
  3.  Kelantan
  4.  Malacca
  5.  Negeri Sembilan
  6.  Pahang
  7.  Penang
  8.  Perak
  9.  Perlis
  10.  Selangor
  11.  Terengganu