Malaysia Stamp & Philately Reference Guide
+ Country   : Malaysia
+ Sub-Area  : Labuan
+ Class     : Stamp & Philatey
+ Prefix    : MYLAB
+ Σ Group   : 29
+ Σ Stamp   : 147
+ Σ Variety : 286
+ Σ Listing : Postage Stamp, Postage Due, Postcard Prepaid (With Indicia)
The Federal Territory of Labuan comprises Labuan Island (87.52 km²) and six other smaller islands (Pulau Burung, Pulau Daat, Pulau Kuraman, Pulau Papan, Pulau Rusukan Kecil, and Pulau Rusukan Besar), which have a combined total area of 91.64 km². The islands lie 8 km off the coast of Borneo, adjacent to theMalaysian state of Sabah and the independent state of Brunei Darussalam, on the northern edge of Brunei Bay facing the South China Sea. Labuan Island is mainly flat and undulating and the highest point is only 85 meters. Over 70% of the island is still covered with vegetation. Victoria, also Bandar Labuan in Malay, is the major town and faces Brunei Bay; access is via ferry service to Brunei and Kota Kinabalu, as well as Labuan Airport. The name Labuan derives from the Malay word labuhan meaning harbour.